For me right now, it’s totally flabby. Nonetheless, I’ve made two separate starts that go in two different directions for a possible novel, and when I sit down and just write, I end up with 1,000 words.

I guess that qualifies as a kind of muscle memory.

Funny, when I wasn’t writing and thought about it, I was certain I had completely forgotten what a novel was, how to begin one, how to structure it, and how to make the characters come to life.

I had to work hard on my craft to get it to where it was, and never really felt confident about it. I guess that’s normal. All my life, I’ve thought, “If I can do it, anyone can.” That may or may not be true, but it certainly says something about me!

So here is my mantra for today: Believe in myself.

Just that. And of course, try to write more!

