Tags

What keeps you up at night?

Worries, definitely. Will I be able to pay that bill? Is the house going to fall down if we have a hurricane? Have I given those I love enough evidence that I love them? Why am I being tormented by nonsense?

But sometimes, if I’m very lucky, what keeps me up is thinking about writing a novel, trying to solve a problem in a current one, or suddenly having a brainwave about something new and completely different.

My question is this: why don’t those moments come when I really need them, like when I’m seated in front of my computer with a blank page in front of me?

And then, why don’t I just get out of bed and write those things down instead of berating myself for not sleeping?

Sigh. That would be too easy. And we all know that writing is the hardest thing there is.

